More “Firsts”

Well, I’ve gone another short vacation. My best friend and I took her 2 sisters to a concert Wednesday, and we stayed in a hotel the day before and the day after. Best friend and I both spent several days de-coloring and re-coloring our hair for the concert. We both had an auburn/purple color and we wanted to get our hair white before coloring a crazy color. So we spent time lightening and toning our hair. We did finally get white, but only for a day. The same day we got it white, we colored it our crazy colors. My color was blue, and hers was bright purple with some of my blue! We ran to Walmart to get some things we needed (while the dyes were sitting) and got lots of funny looks. But we rinsed and conditioned our hair and finally got our cool colors!

blue hair bri

 

The next day, we left for our hotel room with the girls. We went to Walmart again to get temporary dyes for the girls and helped them color their hair. They did red and purple. So here we are, 4 girls all with different colored hair. Needless to say, we got plenty of funny looks, comments, and smiles. We went bowling, and then went to the hotel to hang out. The next day we went to a zoo and got ready for our concert.

We were one of the very first groups of people to get to there for the concert. We were on the lawn, so we laid out our blanket and waited for the show. It was Paramore and Fall Out Boy, but we were only there for Fall Out Boy. I don’t know very many Paramore songs, so their performance wasn’t very fun or exciting for me. But best friend and I have listened to Fall Out Boy since we were kids. So when they came on, we were ecstatic. Screaming, jumping, dancing, singing, clapping, just going crazy. For the full hour or two (or however long they played, I don’t even know!) I’m sure we all looked a little insane. But it was so fun.

The show ended and we finally got back to our hotel at about 12:30.

The next day, we wanted to go ice skating (I had never done this before) but they didn’t open until 2 and our check-out time was 11. So we went to a free art museum in the down time. That was nice, if a little slow. We packed a cooler and had a picnic on a small secluded lawn by a fountain for lunch. That was really nice! We were really lucky to have nice weather the entire time we were out.

So then we went ice skating… I was nervous and kind of excited. Everyone I was with had gone ice skating before. They all had an idea of what to expect. I had no idea. I didn’t want to make a fool of myself, but I wanted to try it! I’ve gone roller blading and roller skating before, so I expected it to be like that. To an extent, it was. But it was definitely different. When I first got on the ice, I was wobbly. I held onto the wall of the ice rink the first few times around. I was trying to figure out my footing and get a grip on how to propel myself without face planting.

Now this sounded like it would’ve been fun. Ice skating for the very first time with my best friend!

I left in a very grumpy mood. I was pissed. Like I said, everyone else had done this before. They had experience on the ice and knew what to do, and I did not. And I felt like none of them wanted to spend the time to teach me how, or at least skate beside me so I didn’t look stupid, wobbling around by myself. They all took off and left me behind. I know that I looked really foolish. Then they wanted to take pictures. They took a couple pictures of me hanging onto the wall for dear life, looking stupid. All the rest of them looked fine. But I looked really dumb.

When I started getting mad, feeling like they were abandoning me, I became determined to go around the rink without touching the damn wall. And I did. It still wasn’t perfect, and I was still a little unstable, but I did it. More than once. Go figure, though. No pictures of me actually doing it and not looking stupid.

So after that, I was ready to leave. Ready to go home, get in my pajamas, and be in my own space and do my own thing. It’s not that I was done with my best friend and her sisters, I was just done with being away from home and doing all these things. I guess I was ready to take break from vacation! Is that even a thing? What can I say, I’m a homebody.